Comfort Food – Celeriac and Potato Mash

Celeriac and Potato Mash

Most people would admit they have comfort foods.  I do too but I also have comfort cookbooks.  When the weather turns a bit cooler and the darkness comes earlier, I like to reach for a cup of tea and a good cookbook and plan dinner parties in my head.  Some happen, some do not. 

Some of my favourite cookbooks are from Ina Garten, Barefoot Contessa.  I started watching her on Food Network years ago being drawn to her cheerfulness and true love of food.  A few worried when I spoke about what Ina made like she had invited me over for dinner but after getting past that, I have been given her cookbooks by family and friends.  She jokes (on the show) that most of her recipes start with a pound of butter and that is mostly true….

I read this recipe from Barefoot in Paris, a cookbook my sweet husband had signed by Ina and gave me on a trip of our own in Paris.   I have used this cookbook over and over and count the recipes among some of my favourites.

The celery root (celeriac) changes a regular mash dish to offer something a bit different so give it a try.  It is such an ugly vegetable but worth peeling away the outside and using the veg this time of year.

Up close with the celeraic

From Barefoot Contessa’s cookbook, Barefoot in Paris, page 163 Potato Celery Root Puree

I varied it in places but have included the recipe as Ina intended with notes of changes. 

Recipe

Serves 6

2 pounds celeriac, peeled

2 pounds potatoes, peeled

2 cups milk

2 tbsp unsalted butter

2 tbsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Cut celeriac and potatoes in large chunks and cook them in separate pots of boiling water until tender.  Drain. (30 for celeriac and 20 for potatoes.)  I cheated here and used one pot cooking celeriac for 10 mins before adding potatoes.  Ina says not to but I had too many pots already going.

Heat milk and butter in another pot until scalded.  I skipped this step.

Puree the celery root with about 3/4 of milk mixture and process in food processor with steel blade.  Process potatoes through a food mill or potato ricer.  Combine with remaining ingredients and serve immediately.  Again, I cheated using my KMix hand blender in the pot.

After removing from heat, add a bit of parsley or other herbs for freshness.

Great accompaniment to any Sunday roast or dishes such as Roasted Beef Rib, Guinea Fowl, or Venison Haunch.

Leave me a comment tell me what would you serve this with?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

