Fresh from the Oven November Event – Plaited? Loaf

Similar to resolutions made at the beginning of each year, I frequently make random resolutions but they are not necessarily linked to a time of year or a specific subject.  I recently made one to learn to bake a great loaf of bread.  Little did I know, this could turn to disaster….

I had seen the Fresh from the Oven monthly event before so thought this would be a good chance to give tried-and-tested recipes recommended by other bloggers.  November’s is hosted by Fuss Free Flavours and she suggested a plaited or braided loaf.

1st attempt for me ended in a sticky mess.  Part of this could be because after it did not rise, I googled ways to remedy this and ended up with some rubbish advice or poor execution of that advice.  That batch had to go!

2nd attempt rose a bit better but timing did not work out so that I could cook when suggested so I may have left it a bit too long.  It was therefore not as easy to work with and did not cooperate in being separated so I failed the test of a plaited loaf, however it was still very delicious even if a bit dense.

RECIPE

300g strong white bread flour
100g strong wholemeal bread flour
7g sachet fast action yeast
2 tsp salt
2 tbsp rapeseed oil
300ml lukewarm water

  • In a large bowl combine the flours, salt, and yeast. Add the warm water and work everything together into a dough. Knead for 10 minutes until smooth and elastic and then leave to rise in a lightly oiled bowl in a warm location for about an hour or until doubled in size.  I used my KMix with the dough hook for 4 minutes which made the job easier.  (Warm location being part of my problem!)

Mixing the dough

  • Knock back the dough on a lightly floured work top, place back in a bowl in a warm location and cover with lightly oiled cling film and leave to rise until nearly doubled in size, 40 minutes to an hour. 
  • (At this point, one should separate into 3 parts in order to braid.  I was unable to successful do this so I just made into a round loaf.)

Yes, had to make it into a round loaf….

  • Preheat the oven to 200C and bake for 25 minutes until the bottom is hollow when tapped. 

Enjoy with butter, jam, honey, or just by itself!

And, there is still plenty of room for me to achieve that goal of baking bread well.  Maybe soon I will even be able to make a plaited one.

Leave me a comment if you have had a baking disaster you don’t mind sharing.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Fresh from the Oven November Event – Plaited? Loaf

  1. Before our kitchen was done, we had a very er…variable oven. I made an apple bundt cake in it. The top looked set and it’d been baking a good 30mins longer than it was meant to so I turned it out…. to find that the inside was barely set and it slumped into a puke-looking (but lovely tasting!) mess. Ooof.

Leave a Reply

