Review – Billingsgate Fish Market

Christmas came early!!!  After 2 years of wanting to check out Billingsgate Fish Market, I worked a day off over the Christmas break and talked my husband into going with me.  And though it was a bit early, I am so glad I did.

If you are thinking of going, there are things to keep in mind.

Fresh salmon and trout on offer

Fresh salmon and trout on offer

 1) The market

is industrial and caters to commercial shoppers.  Bear this in mind with your attire and wear wellies if you have them.

The market moves early.

The market moves early.

 2)  Shoppers must arrive very early.  It opens at 4:00 and closes at 9:30 but the earlier you to, the better the selection. (Market is closed on Sunday and Monday)

Starts early!

Starts early!

3)  Shoppers must take cash.

4)  If parking on site, take £2 coins for a pay and display ticket.

5)  Decide what you want before arriving but be flexible for other items on offer.

6)  Take strong plastic bags and a large plastic container for your purchases.  You will need this whether on public transportation or in your own vehicle.

Lovely lady at Wren and Hines who helped me select the salmon and scallops

Lovely lady at Wren and Hines who helped me select the salmon and scallops

7)  If you want to take photos, complete the form on the main Billingsgate site and receive a permit.

I could have walked around all morning but after a few loops, I knew I wanted salmon and prawns so I did not want to torture my husband any more than I had already done.  For the price, I could not pass up as much as would fit in my refrigerator and freezer.  Though I only planned on 1 salmon filet, I actually went for 2 – oops! (£8/kg)!! 

Salmon from the market

Salmon from the market

I ended up with some scallops too but that was just a bonus.  I will be blogging about them all very soon.

Smoked Salmon selection

Smoked Salmon selection

If you can handle a 3 am wake-up call, I definitely recommend going!

The crew who is ready for an early morning!

The crew who is ready for an early morning!

My experience may not be replicated but the prices of the items I left with are below.

– Salmon filet (skin-on) – £8/kg

– Scallops – £10/kg (These were broken.)  Whole scallops were a steal at £24/kg.

– Prawns – 3 kg for £22 or £10 for 1 kg,

Salmon, scallop and prawn recipes to follow….

Please let me know if you have been to Billingsgate and what tips you might have.  Looking forward to my next visit but until then, some of my favourite memories were on the drive to and from the market through London.

AT Billingsgate

At Billingsgate

On the drive…

Approaching Buckingham Palace

Approaching Buckingham Palace

There is the Palace!!  It looks like everyone is still sleeping.

There is the Palace!! It looks like everyone is still sleeping.

Knightsbridge area

DSC_0251

DSC_0253

6 Comments

Filed under Farmers'/Food Markets, Recipes, Shopping

6 responses to “Review – Billingsgate Fish Market

  1. Uncle Scot

    Wonderful review.That’s going on my London to do list..Wishing you and E the merriest healthiest Christmas ever.We all love you very much..

  2. Pingback: Recipe – Citrus Cured Salmon | London Busy Body

  3. Pingback: Recipe – Drunk Cured Salmon | London Busy Body

  4. Your tips are really helpful. Nine Elms is another early start, the flowers there are wonderful.

  5. Pingback: Recipe – Salt Encrusted Whole Baked Salmon | London Busy Body

Leave a Reply

