Recipe – Sicilian Swordfish

Around this time last year, I was basking away in the Sicilian sun enjoying leisurely breakfasts and relaxing lunches and dinners.  With the last few days of sun here in the last week, though it was cold, it made me long for those Sicilian days.  I decided to make my take on a swordfish dish I could have with a Sicilian wine to remember the days in Modica at Le Lumie and near Mt Etna at Tenuta San Michelle.  Nerello Mascalese is a nice grape to have with swordfish.

Sicilian Swordfish 014

Recipe

4 swordfish steaks, 200 g each

2 red onions, sliced

2 cloves garlic, diced

2 cans of tomatoes (I used peeled plum tomatoes but any will work here)

4 tbsp oregano

1/2 cup black olives, pitted and chopped

3 tbsp capers

Warm a skillet with 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat and add onions cooking for 10-15 minutes until soft.  Add garlic and stir for 1 minute. 

Sicilian Swordfish 008

Add tomatoes and oregano and simmer for about 10 minutes.   Stir in olives and capers and allow to warm through for 3-4 minutes. 

Sicilian Swordfish 010

Season swordfish steaks with salt and pepper and a touch of olive oil.  Whilst the sauce is simmering, heat a grill pan over medium heat.  Sear swordfish and cook on both sides for 5-7 minutes on each side.

Sicilian Swordfish 012

Serve swordfish with sauce drizzled over.  Absolutely delicious!

Sicilian Swordfish 013

I also cooked a bit of fregola pasta to serve with it.  Definitely a Sicilian reminder….I must book the next trip!

I am entering this in the April Herbs on Saturday competition by Lavender and Lovage.

herbsonsaturday

7 Comments

Filed under Recipes

7 responses to “Recipe – Sicilian Swordfish

  1. Uncle Scot

    Good Luck in the competition.It looks great.

  2. This looks great, I love swordfish. Did you get it from the fishmonger or just in a supermarket? I haven’t seen it available anywhere! Thanks, Camilla

    • Hi Camilla, I got it from George’s Fish Shop on Ladbroke Grove. He was the original owner of the Goldborne Road fishmonger and sold it 7 years ago. He open this new shop on Ladbroke Grove a few months ago and really has a passion for bringing fresh fish to his customers. He is happy to share info on the fish, tips and recipes. Hope you can get there soon!

  3. glamorous glutton

    For some reason I only eat swordfish when I’m in a restaurant. This has reminded me that it’s well worth cooking at home. I have a great wet fishmonger so I’ll give it a go. GG

  4. As always Andi, stunning photos and a fabulous recipe! Stunning entry thanks, and thanks for being such a wonderful supporter of Herbs on Saturday! Karen

  5. I love this recipe, and I will try it very soon. Warm wishes from San Francisco!

Leave a Reply

