Recipe – Nigella’s Chocolate Raspberry Pavlova

A few years ago celebrating a birthday in New Orleans at John Besh’s restaurant, August, I discovered Mas Amiel, a red dessert wine.  I rarely am without a bottle on hand which is not to say that I have it more than a few times a year, but I like to know it is there when I reach for it.  It is delicious with rich, chocolate desserts.  I am now unsure whether I have Mas Amiel with chocolate dessert or the chocolate dessert with Mas Amiel.  Either way, does it really matter?

April 2013 056

After recently watching Nigella Lawsonmake her Chocolate Raspberry Pavlova, I decided that was the one for this bottle.

After reading the recipe and a few reviews, I decided to cut out half the sugar. 

April 2013 054

I am glad I did as it was plenty sweet and I think lessening the sugar allowed the chocolate to shine through and go well with the dessert wine, which is sweet and smooth but not cloying and overly sticky. 

April 2013 043

Pardon the drip – I should have taken the photo earlier

I got the recipe from the Food Network website at the link below.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/nigella-lawson/chocolate-raspberry-pavlova-recipe/index.html

As mentioned previously, I reduced the sugar in the recipe.  I also halved the recipe since I was cooking for a smaller party.  We had leftovers which though not as presentable were in my opinion, even better than the previous day’s portion.

The recipe is very easy and is ideal for company as it needs to cool and can be refrigerated for a few hours before serving.  Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Recipe – Nigella’s Chocolate Raspberry Pavlova

  1. I have also made this Nigella recipe and funnily enough reduced the sugar too, as I have in a couple of her other recipes. Yours looks delicious and has reminded me about this lovely pudding which I will make again. I hadn’t heard of this wine though but will definitely look into that.

Leave a Reply

