Recipe – Partridge in a Pear Tree – Nigel Slater

I am often asked why I choose certain recipes.  There is not usually one reason but many.  In this case, after reading Nigel Slater’s reference or pun to partridges in a pear tree, I knew this was the one! Pears are at their best now and partridges are quite tender and juicy now.

Roasted Partridge

The recipe is one posted in the Observer in 2007.  Thanks to an internet search, in .17 seconds, it was at my fingertips.  The caramelised pears were divine and I will serve these  with other dishes or even as a dessert in the future.  I added some cinnamon and cassia bark powder for a bit of festive spice.  If you make this recipe, double the pears….trust me.

Partridge from the London Farmers' Market

Partridge from the London Farmers’ Market

In addition to the recipe, I included venison meatballs made from 3 venison sausages.

Venison Meatballs

Remove meat from venison sausages and form into meatballs.  Place in roasting tin with partridge. That is it!

Prepping the Partridges

Prepping the Partridges and Meatballs

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2007/nov/18/recipes.foodanddrink6

This is one of the best dishes I have made in a while and cannot wait to have it again.  Easy and indeed scrumptious.

Would be delicious with a side of Honey Glazed Parsnips.

This month, I am entering this recipe in Janice Pattie’s Dish of the Month at Farmers Girl Kitchen and Karen Burns-Booth’s Cooking with Herbs (previously Herbs on Saturday) at Lavender and Lovage.

Nigel Slater Dish-of-the-Month

Cooking-with-Herbs-300x252

3 Comments

Filed under Farmers'/Food Markets, Recipes

3 responses to “Recipe – Partridge in a Pear Tree – Nigel Slater

  1. This is a very interesting recipe, indeed. I love game and I love parsnips too. Thanks for posting about it. Next time I find some partridges, I’ll try it.

  2. Fab recipe, Nigel always comes up trumps. Thanks for all your entries to Dish of the Month.

Leave a Reply

