Recipe – Flatiron Beef with Pickled Cabbage

In my house, so often weekday dinner is a case of fast and furious.  I  have the best intentions….but generally, it just does not happen.  That is when this dish is so helpful.  It can be on the table in 20 minutes (not to sound too much like Jamie Oliver….) flatiron and cabbage I wanted something with a bit of zing so the pickled cabbage and hit of lemon in the marinade for the beef were perfect compliments.

Serves 2

400g, flatiron steak* (180-200g is a plentiful portion per person)

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

Rosemary (optional)

Jar of Garner’s pickled cabbage

*For more even cooking, ask your butcher to cut flatiron into strips about 15 x 6cm or 6 x 2.5 inches.  The guys at Provenance are always happy to help.

If I plan ahead, I will marinate the flatiron for a few hours or even overnight in the fridge with the olive oil, lemon juice, rosemary, salt and pepper and will remove the beef about 30 minutes before cooking.  If not, I will do it for as long as I have which could be 5-10 minutes ahead.

Nicely marbled beef

Nicely marbled beef

Heat grill pan on medium on the stovetop.  Sear the flatiron and cook on each side for 4 minutes (total of 8 minutes) for medium rare, adding rosemary and seasoning whilst cooking.  Remove from heat and allow beef to rest somewhere warm for 5-10 minutes.  Slice beef into strips and serve with pickled cabbage.

cabbage

I served with Garner’s pickled cabbage which is quite zingy and fresh.  The crunch added a nice balance to the texture of the tender meat.

flatiron and cabbage

On Day 2, I used the leftover beef to make a sandwich, dressing it with scant Dijon mustard and drained pickled cabbage.  It was quite a flavourful combination and gave new life to the beef.

As Karen from Lavender and Lovage asked that this month’s Cooking with Herbs include citrus, I think this recipe fits the bill.

Cooking-with-Herbs-300x252

Disclaimer: I received samples of Garner’s pickles to try. Opinions are my own.

Garner's pickled range

Garner’s pickled range

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Recipe – Flatiron Beef with Pickled Cabbage

  1. Uncle Scot

    Looks Yum !

Leave a comment